Show Image
  • View Photos
  • Watch Clips
  • May 27 – July 22, 2017


    The Den Theatre, 1333 North Milwaukee Ave., in Chicago. The Den Theatre’s Heath Main Stage.

    Show & Ticket Info

    Previews – May 27 – June 3, 2017
    Regular Run – June 4 – July 22, 2017
    Performances – Thursday, Friday & Saturday at 7:30pm. Sunday at 3:00pm (one performance on Wednesday, July 19, 2017)

    Click here for ticket information and purchases
    Or call 866-811-4111 to order tickets by phone.
    Tickets – $30 – $39.

    Premiere Production Sponsor

    Michael and Mona Heath Fund
    Additional production support from Gitta K. Jacobs


    Book Terrence McNally
    Lyrics by Lynn Ahrens, Music by Stephen Flaherty
    Based on the novel by E.L. Doctorow
    New Orchestrations by Matt Deitchman
    Directed by Scott Weinstein

    A newly orchestrated chamber version of the Tony Award-winning musical performed with two pianos, a wind instrument and 20 actors. Griffin premieres this new version created by director Scott Weinstein and music director Matt Deitchman. The musical, based on the 1975 novel by E.L. Doctorow, is set at the dawn of a new century where the lives of three distinct American families from different backgrounds intersect in their search for the American dream. Part history lesson—part family saga, Ragtime asks us to think about racism, immigration, social justice, wage inequality and the role of women in society in a changing America.


    Jermaine Hill & Ellen Morris – Music Direction
    William Carlos Angulo – Choreography
    William Boles – Scenic Design
    Rachel Sypniewski – Costume Design
    Alex Ridgers – Lighting Design
    Stephen Ptacek – Sound Design
    Annamarie Giordano – Properties Design
    Catherine Allen – Production Manager
    KZ Wilkerson – Assistant Director/Asst. Choreographer/Dramaturg
    Katie Messmore – Stage Manager
    Nick Plakas – Assistant Stage Manager
    Kelly Parker – Casting Director


    Larry Baldacci – Grandfather
    Neala Barron – Emma Goldman
    Marcellus Burt – Ensemble
    Joe Capstick – Harry Houdini
    Caitlin Collins – Evelyn Nesbit
    Danielle Davis – Sarah’s Friend
    Matt Edmonds – Younger Brother
    Frederick Harris – Booker T. Washington
    Autumn Hlava – The Little Girl
    Courtney Jones – Kathleen/Brigit and others
    Arielle Leverett – Ensemble
    Alanna Lovely – Ensemble
    Scott Allen Luke – Father
    Laura McClain – Mother
    Blace McGraw – Coalhouse Walker III
    Ben Miller – The Little Boy
    Juwon Perry – Ensemble
    Jason Richards – Tateh
    Jonathan Schwart – Henry Ford
    Katherine Thomas – Sarah
    Denzel Tsopnang – Coalhouse Walker, Jr.


    View schedule

    Show History

    View a list of our past seasons starting with the 1989/1990 season.

    View past shows